‘I love a sunburnt country…’ – Heading South!

‘My Country’ Ok, Australia is a huge continent. Cut out the map and place it over Europe, it will cover the countries from Ireland to Turkey! AND we have just about weather condition. Arid hot deserts to rugged snow country. Lush tropical rainforests to balmy beaches (we have over 11,000 of them) Surrounded by a few oceans and contains rivers filled with an abundant of fish.

Yep we have it all in one glorious country! Dorothea Mackellar’s poem ‘My Country’  sums it up beautifully. The most famous second stanza reads…
‘I love a sunburnt country,
A land of sweeping plains,
Of ragged mountain ranges,
Of droughts and flooding rains.
I love her far horizons,
I love her jewel-sea,
Her beauty and her terror –
The wide brown land for me!’

So to being the travels, I’m heading south for the summer to Tasmania, I’ll leave the top end’s heat for the winter. Driving from Queensland with little stops or detours along the way.

I can’t pass up a good scene to snap with my trust camera! One the road to Goulburn near Lake George.

P1830185-001.JPG

P1830196

P1830206

P1830207-001

P1830197

Happy Australia Day to all…..

 

**Please note – all images are subject to copyright – Lexa Harpell.   Not to be used for commercial or personal purposes without my permission. If you wish to use the in any form – please contact me for permission.

2 thoughts on “‘I love a sunburnt country…’ – Heading South!

    1. Oh thanks 1world2feet! Hey I just turn up in life and point the camera at the glorious wonders our beautiful world displays. Mother nature does the rest. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

