Muckross, Donegal – Hidden gem – Private – Serene

It was one of those random moments when someone asked me if I would like to go for a drive. I’d been at my computer solid for a few days and needed a break – so I jumped at the opportunity. Mind you, I had no idea where – it didn’t seem to matter.

A short drive to the small coastal village of Kilcar then to Muckross, about 15 mins from Glencolmcille.

Watching the waves pound the rocks reminded me a little of a mini Cliffs of Mohar – yet it was devoid of tourists – in fact anyone. The sun was shining (for a change – haha) which lit the scenery’s glorious autumn colours. I was like a child in wonderment standing – absorbing its essence.

P1810293-001  P1810272

P1810263-004  P1810280-001

The enormity of Slieve League (the highest sea cliffs in Europe) to the right and the distant mountain of Sligo to the left made for brilliant backdrops for this gorgeous hidden gem. You can sit and ponder life, or just enjoy nature’s magnificence.

P1810278-001 P1810287

P1810206 P1810196

P1810242-001 P1810209-002

P1810252-001  P1810274

3 thoughts on “Muckross, Donegal – Hidden gem – Private – Serene

    1. Oh thanks for telling me Michelle. It is confusing with village names for us Aussies! I stayed for 3 months in Glencolmcille last year and visited Kilcar many times – at the coffee shop on the corner (yummm) times in the pub listening to music and the woollen mill/tweed factory. so much to see and do.

      And YES it is God’s country! It changed my way of thinking about life and people, love the stay and hopefully will return one day. 😀 Thanks again, cheers Lexa

      Like

Leave a Reply

